Sunday 3:24am
March 29, 2015
Currently 35°F
Posted: Monday, August 18th 2014 at 8:00am

Last lap pass puts Matt Vassar in GMP victory lane

By Track PR
click to enlarge
Matt Vassar turned a last lap pass into a trip to victory lane in Saturday night's Truck division feature at Gresham Motorsports Park. / Photo: Courtesy GMP Media
JEFFERSON, GA – Seven divisions of stock cars took advantage of perfect summer weather and ideal racing conditions in the next-to-last Stockerama of the 2014 racing season Saturday at Gresham Motorsports Park in Jefferson, GA.

The evening’s final event – the 30-lap GMP Pro Truck Division – proved to be the most exciting race of the night as Matt Vassar took the lead from Bill Melvin on the final lap.

Vassar, who led a good portion of the high-speed contest on the GMP half-mile, lost the top spot to Melvin on a late race restart. Undaunted, Vassar blasted back into the lead to win going away with Melvin, Cody Haskins, Ronnie Wehunt and Jami Weimer in hot pursuit at the finish.

Vassar celebrated his victory by climbing the GMP front-stretch catch fence to salute the crowd.

The INEX Bandolero and Legends cars made their second appearance at GMP this season an exciting one with Clay Thompson besting Nathan Jackson and Dakota Bradley in the Bandolero Bandit 20-lap main event.

Meanwhile, Zach Leonhardi made it two-straight GMP wins as he outdueled Rex Brown, Danny Cisson, Craig Bruce and Brandon Beck in an action-packed Legends 25-lap main on the GMP quarter-mile track.

The 25-lap Sportsman headliner saw Brian Sosebee drive under Waylan Nicholson’s checkered flag first, but a post-race disqualification for a tire rule infraction gave the win to runner-up Jackie Daniel. Jody Cash’s bright yellow Dodge was second with Michael Mobley coming home third.

B.J. Fisher earned his first 2014 GMP win over Gary Zajdek and Brian Sutton on the 25-lap Front Wheel Drive Division main event. In addition to the $400 first-place money, Fisher also received a $100 product certificate from CV Products.

It was all Mike Childers in the Renegade 25-lap event as the father and son combo Bryan and Dave Beckner battled it out for the runner-up spot. In the end, youth won out as Bryan Beckner took second with Dave Beckner a close third.

Finally, World Crown 300 Outlaw Late Model Division champion Lee Langford stayed red-hot winning the 30-lap Outlaw main event Saturday. Russell Shore and David Murphy put on one the best races of the night battling side-by-side for the last 15 laps of the Outlaw headliner with Shore barely nosing out Murphy for second at the finish.

Next up at GMP will be the return of the Pro Late Models when the PPG Paints Top Gun Sealants 100 takes the green flag on Saturday, September 13.

The headline event will feature the Southeast’s top Pro Late Model Stars in a 100-lap battle while the GMP Outlaw Late Model and Pro Truck Divisions will each contest 30-lap features on the GMP half-mile.

Gresham Motorsports Park will host Georgia Racing Hall of Fame Night as part of the September 13 PPG Paints Top Gun Sealants 100 Pro Late Model race.

A number of current GRHOF members will be on hand during the on-track autograph and photo session prior to the race. There will also be some of Georgia auto racing’s most iconic vintage racecars that fans can get close to and photo.

Best of all, the 2014 class of Georgia Racing Hall of Fame inductees will be revealed and introduced on the GMP front straight during pre-race ceremonies.

Tickets for the September 13 event – the PPG Paints Top Gun Sealants 100 and Georgia Racing Hall of Fame Night - are just $20 for adult general admission, $15 for Seniors and Military, $10 for students 13-17 and - as always – kids 12 and under are free at GMP.

For more information, visit

Gresham Motorsports Park - Jefferson, GA
Race Results - Aug. 16, 2014

1. Matt Vassar
2. Bill Melvin
3. Cody Haskins
4. Ronnie Wehunt
5. Jami Weimer
6. Kevin Vassar
7. Trevor Shirley

Outlaw Late Models
1. Lee Langford
2. Russell Shore
3. David Murphy

Bandit Bandoleros
1. Clay Thompson
2. Nathan Jackson
3. Dakota Bradley

1. Mike Childers
2. Bryan Beckner
3. Dave Beckner

1. Zach Leonhardi
2. Rex Brown
3. Danny Cisson
4. Craig Bruce
5. Brandon Beck

1. Jackie Daniel
2. Jody Cash
3. Michael Mobley
4. Rob Hubbard
DQ: Brian Sosebee
DNS: Kevin Little

1. B.J. Fisher
2. Gary Zajdek
3. Brian Sutton

Link: Gresham Motorsports Park
Associated Categories: Sports News, Professional Sports, NASCAR

© Copyright 2015
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.

  • Click here
  • Click here
  • Click here
  • Click here
  • Click here
Gainesville, GA 30501
Wind: NNW 5 mph
Dew point: 17°F