Wednesday 6:39am
April 01, 2015
Currently 59°F
Posted: Tuesday, July 29th 2014 at 4:00pm

Dilbeck scores Outlaw Late Model win at 'The Melon'

By Series PR
click to enlarge
Chris Dilbeck made his third trip of the season to Victory Lane with a win Saturday night in the Outlaw Late Model feature. / Photo: Courtesy Chris Dilbeck
CORDELE, GA – Chris Dilbeck has proved to be the man to beat in Outlaw Late Models at Watermelon Capital Speedway in Cordele, GA this year. Saturday night was no different, as Dilbeck led wire-to-wire to score his third Georgia For Fair Tax Outlaw Late Model feature of the season at “The Melon”.

Dilbeck turned in fast time in qualifying with a lap at 16.43 seconds, and led the 13 car field down to the green flag. While he pulled out to the lead, Stuart Dutton moved his way up from a fifth place starting spot and survived a spin to come home in the second position. Luke Christian also had an off track excursion, as Watermelon Capital Speedway has no outside retaining walls from turn one through turn three and along the backstretch, leaving him with severe damage to the nose of his racer, but still managed to salvage a third place finish.

Chris Tullis moved up from a ninth place starting spot to come home in fourth, while Steve Barker worked his way through the field to round out the top five.

Pendergrass, GA’s David Murphy had a good start to the night, and had worked his way up to third going into the last lap. But a detour off the back stretch left him off the track in turn three, ruining what had been a great race for him. He would be credited with ninth place.

Other winners on the night included Dusty Stafford in Enduros, James Pennington in Mini-Stocks, Scott Stroup in Economy/Predator Go Karts, Phil Dixon in Flathead/Stock Go Karts, Robbey Kimsey in Box Stock Go Karts and Jeremy Moore in Modified Go Karts.

Watermelon Capital Speedway is back in action on August 23. For more info, visit

Watermelon Capital Speedway - Cordele, GA
Race Results - July 26, 2014

1. # 9 Chris Dilbeck
2. #32 Stuart Dutton
3. # 2 Luke Christian
4. #24 Chris Tullis
5. #64 Steve Barker
6. #02 Steve Renner
7. #92 Blake Gaither
8. # 5 Sam Short
9. #35 David Murphy
10. #18 Stewart Smith
11. #2 Kyle McCallum
12. #3 Jordan McCallum
13. #49 Alex Laverette

Link: Watermelon Capital Speedway
Associated Categories: Sports News, Professional Sports, NASCAR

© Copyright 2015
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.

  • Click here
  • Click here
  • Click here
  • Click here
  • Click here
Gainesville, GA 30501
Wind: West 8 mph
Dew point: 51°F