Monday 4:03pm
March 30, 2015
Currently 68°F
Posted: Sunday, July 20th 2014 at 11:57pm

Gamble pays off for Conway in IndyCar Toronto Race 2 win

By IndyCar Media
click to enlarge
Mike Conway jumps from his car after winning Race 2 of the Honda Indy Toronto Sunday afternoon. / Photo: Chris Jones
TORONTO, ONTARIO, CANADA - Mike Conway earned his second Verizon IndyCar Series victory of the season by holding off Tony Kanaan over a three-lap sprint to the finish in the second race of the Honda Indy Toronto doubleheader.

Conway, driving the No. 20 Fuzzy's Ultra Premium Vodka car for Ed Carpenter Racing, won by 3.5418 seconds following a lap 54 restart after a red flag with 4 minutes, 23 seconds left in the 80-minute race. INDYCAR Race Control called for the red flag to freeze the field on lap 52 after a multiple-car incident in turn 3.

Will Power finished third in the No. 12 Verizon Team Penske car and Charlie Kimball advanced 12 positions from his 16th-place starting position in the No. 83 Levemir FlexTouch Chip Ganassi Racing car to finish fourth. Takuma Sato rebounded from 23rd place in Race 1 to finish a season-high fifth in the No. 14 ABC Supply A.J. Foyt Racing entry.

Verizon IndyCar Series championship front-runner Helio Castroneves, the pole sitter as the race lineup for the standing start was determined by entrant points, sustained wing damage on the No. 3 PPG Team Penske car on the penultimate lap and dropped to 12th place. He holds a 13-point lead over Power through 14 of the season's 18 races.

Conway was the second driver to switch from Firestone rain tires to alternate tires on lap 43 as the 1.755-mile, 11-turn street circuit was drying following a light rain that started on lap 12. He was running third after gaining one position on a lap 49 restart and overtook Justin Wilson and Josef Newgarden - both still on rain tires - for the lead on lap 50.

"The tire temperatures came in really fast and that's what you need in those types of conditions, so I could just control it and not have to push too hard and enjoy those last few laps," said Conway, who had not recorded a top-10 finish since his win at Long Beach on April 13.

Conway, earning his second victory of the season and the third of the season for Ed Carpenter Racing, won the 250th race for Firestone since its return to Indy car racing in 1995.

"Mike said he was ready for drys. This one is all Mike; he did a great job," said team owner/driver Ed Carpenter, who won at Texas Motor Speedway in June.

Kanaan, who finished third in Race 1 and started ninth in Race 2, brought out a lap 1 caution when the No. 10 Target Chip Ganassi Racing car nosed into the tire barrier in turn 3. He fell to 23rd on the restart.

"I made a little mistake on the start. I got too excited and I had to make it up," said Kanaan, who had podium finishes in the past three races. "You have to believe. You can't give up. We're here racing. I hate when I make mistakes, so I had to make it up."

In Race 1, Sebastien Bourdais, driving the No. 11 Hydroxycut KVSH Racing car, claimed his 32nd Indy car career win. Bourdais broke a tie with Dario Franchitti and Paul Tracy for eighth on the all-time win list.

"It's really sweet. We had to fight and wait for it for a long time but today was just kind of one of these days when the stars align," said Bourdais, who led 58 of the 65 laps and won by 3.3 seconds over Castroneves. "I guess I was not expecting it because here I know how things can go. Last year we were second and third and it's great to get this win."

The Verizon IndyCar Series will have a weekend off before traveling to the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course for the Honda Indy 200 on August 3.

Verizon IndyCar Series
Exhibition Place Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Honda Indy Toronto Race 2 July 20, 2014

1. (11) Mike Conway, Dallara-Chevy, 56, Running
2. (9) Tony Kanaan, Dallara-Chevy, 56, Running
3. (2) Will Power, Dallara-Chevy, 56, Running
4. (16) Charlie Kimball, Dallara-Chevy, 56, Running
5. (22) Takuma Sato, Dallara-Honda, 56, Running
6. (18) Jack Hawksworth, Dallara-Honda, 56, Running
7. (7) Scott Dixon, Dallara-Chevy, 56, Running
8. (8) Marco Andretti, Dallara-Honda, 56, Running
9. (10) Sebastien Bourdais, Dallara-Chevy, 56, Running
10. (15) Justin Wilson, Dallara-Honda, 56, Running
11. (12) Ryan Briscoe, Dallara-Chevy, 56, Running
12. (1) Helio Castroneves, Dallara-Chevy, 56, Running
13. (17) Josef Newgarden, Dallara-Honda, 56, Running
14. (4) Ryan Hunter-Reay, Dallara-Honda, 56, Running
15. (20) Carlos Huertas, Dallara-Honda, 56, Running
16. (23) Luca Filippi, Dallara-Honda, 56, Running
17. (6) Carlos Munoz, Dallara-Honda, 52, Mechanical
18. (13) James Hinchcliffe, Dallara-Honda, 52, Running
19. (5) Juan Pablo Montoya, Dallara-Chevy, 52, Running
20. (19) Graham Rahal, Dallara-Honda, 50, Mechanical
21. (21) Sebastian Saavedra, Dallara-Chevy, 49, Mechanical
22. (3) Simon Pagenaud, Dallara-Honda, 47, Running
23. (14) Mikhail Aleshin, Dallara-Honda, 11, Contact

Winners average speed: 73.168

Time of Race: 01:20:35.5420

Margin of victory: 3.5418

Cautions: 7 for 20 laps

Lead changes: 6 among 5 drivers

Lap Leaders:
Castroneves 1 - 11
Power 12 - 13
Newgarden 14 - 20
Castroneves 21 - 41
Power 42 - 44
Wilson 45 - 49
Conway 50 - 56

Point Standings: Castroneves 533, Power 520, Hunter-Reay 464, Pagenaud 462, Montoya 428, Dixon 387, Munoz 384, Kanaan 380, Andretti 375, Bourdais 358, Briscoe 344.
Associated Categories: Sports News, Professional Sports, NASCAR

© Copyright 2015
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.

  • Click here
  • Click here
  • Click here
  • Click here
  • Click here
Gainesville, GA 30501
Wind: NW 12 mph
Dew point: 38°F