Saturday 10:21am
March 28, 2015
Currently 37°F
Posted: Sunday, July 20th 2014 at 1:22pm

Bourdais claims Race 1 of Indy Toronto Doubleheader

By IndyCar Media
click to enlarge
Sebastien Bourdais celebrates after scoring the victory in the first of two Verizon IndyCar Series races Sunday morning at Toronto. / Photo: Chris Jones
TORONTO, ONTARIO, CANDADA - It's been a long and winding road between victories for Sebastien Bourdais.

Bourdais, driving the No. 11 Hydroxycut KVSH Racing Chevrolet, claimed his 32nd career Indy car win in Race 1 of the Honda Indy Toronto by 3.3408 seconds over Verizon IndyCar Series championship front-runner Helio Castroneves.

Bourdais broke a tie with Dario Franchitti and Paul Tracy for eighth on the all-time win list.

"It's really sweet. We had to fight and wait for it for a long time but today was just kind of one of these days when the stars align," said Bourdais, who earned the Verizon P1 Award on July 19. "I guess I was not expecting it because here I know how things can go. Last year we were second and third and it's great to get this win."

Bourdais, 35, who resides in St. Petersburg, FL, closed the 2007 season with victories at Surfers Paradise, Australia, and Mexico City - the latter on Nov. 11 -- to secure his fourth consecutive Champ Car World Series title for Newman/Haas Racing. He moved to Europe to compete in Formula One for two seasons, and then drove in the SuperLeague Formula in 2010.

Bourdais competed in nine Verizon IndyCar Series races in 2011 for Dale Coyne Racing, made 11 starts for Dragon Racing the next season and contested his first full season in 2013 with Dragon Racing.

His dominating victory was the first for KVSH Racing since Tony Kanaan won the 2013 Indianapolis 500 Mile Race and its fourth overall.

"He dominated from start to finish and we're very proud of him," team co-owner Kevin Kalkhoven said. "He's had some unlucky breaks but showed today what a strong driver he is."

Kanaan finished third for the second consecutive race in the No. 10 Target Chip Ganassi Racing car, while teammate Scott Dixon - who swept the Toronto doubleheader last July - finished fifth. Simon Pagenaud, whose No. 77 Schmidt Peterson Hamilton Motorsports car was involved in a lap 1 incident that brought out a red flag, rallied to finish fourth.

Pagenaud reclaimed third place in the championship standings with 454 points. Castroneves, driving the No. 3 PPG Team Penske car, increased his points margin over Power from nine to 28. Power climbed to ninth place in after starting from the rear of the 23-car field.

Graham Rahal advanced five positions to finish sixth in the No. 15 National Guard Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda and Charlie Kimball improved 11 spots relative to his starting position to finish seventh in the No. 83 Levemir FlexTouch Chevrolet for Chip Ganassi Racing. James Hinchcliffe of Oakville, Ontario, placed eighth.

Race 2, featuring a standing start, has a green flag scheduled for 4:15 p.m. (ET). The lineup for the companion 65-lap race on the 1.755-mile, 11-turn street circuit at Exhibition Place will be set by entrant points as they stand following Race 1. Castroneves and Team Penske teammate Will Power will start on the front row.

Verizon IndyCar Series
Exhibition Place - Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Honda Indy Toronto Race 1 - July 20, 2014

1. (1) Sebastien Bourdais, Dallara-Chevy, 65, Running
2. (2) Helio Castroneves, Dallara-Chevy, 65, Running
3. (5) Tony Kanaan, Dallara-Chevy, 65, Running
4. (4) Simon Pagenaud, Dallara-Honda, 65, Running
5. (9) Scott Dixon, Dallara-Chevy, 65, Running
6. (11) Graham Rahal, Dallara-Honda, 65, Running
7. (18) Charlie Kimball, Dallara-Chevy, 65, Running
8. (8) James Hinchcliffe, Dallara-Honda, 65, Running
9. (23) Will Power, Dallara-Chevy, 65, Running
10. (7) Justin Wilson, Dallara-Honda, 65, Running
11. (19) Mikhail Aleshin, Dallara-Honda, 65, Running
12. (21) Ryan Briscoe, Dallara-Chevy, 65, Running
13. (15) Jack Hawksworth, Dallara-Honda, 65, Running
14. (17) Carlos Huertas, Dallara-Honda, 65, Running
15. (13) Mike Conway, Dallara-Chevy, 65, Running
16. (20) Marco Andretti, Dallara-Honda, 65, Running
17. (14) Carlos Munoz, Dallara-Honda, 65, Running
18. (22) Juan Pablo Montoya, Dallara-Chevy, 64, Running
19. (16) Sebastian Saavedra, Dallara-Chevy, 64, Running
20. (10) Josef Newgarden, Dallara-Honda, 63, Contact
21. (3) Ryan Hunter-Reay, Dallara-Honda, 39, Contact
22. (6) Luca Filippi, Dallara-Honda, 17, Contact
23. (12) Takuma Sato, Dallara-Honda, 10, Contact

Winner's average speed: 90.370

Time of Race: 01:15:44.3232

Margin of victory: 3.3408

Cautions: 2 for 5 laps

Lead changes: 3 among 3 drivers

Lap Leaders:
Bourdais 1 - 33
Castroneves 34
Pagenaud 35 - 40
Bourdais 41 - 65

Point Standings: Castroneves 512, Power 484, Pagenaud 454, Hunter-Reay 448, Montoya 417, Munoz 371, Dixon 361, Andretti 351, Kanaan 340, Bourdais 336.
Associated Categories: Sports News, Professional Sports, NASCAR

© Copyright 2015
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.

  • Click here
  • Click here
  • Click here
  • Click here
  • Click here
Gainesville, GA 30501
Wind: NNW 10 mph
Dew point: 17°F