Sunday 5:21am
March 29, 2015
Currently 31°F
Posted: Wednesday, July 2nd 2014 at 12:00pm

Mosley powers to Masters Legends win at Atlanta

By Dustin Bixby
click to enlarge
Scott Mosley turned a sixth place starting spot into a victory in the Masters Legends division last Wednesday at Atlanta Motor Speedway. / Photo: Tom Francisco/
HAMPTON, GA – Division championships have started to come into focus while front runners have begun to percolate to the top of the standing at the midpoint of the 2014 Thursday Thunder season on the quarter-mile “Thunder Ring” at Atlanta Motor Speedway.

Scott Moseley of McDonough rode to a feature win in the Estes Services Masters Division. Moseley started from the sixth position and used a late race caution to move to the front of the field.

“For a minute there I really didn’t know what to expect with cars going everywhere,” said the race winner Moseley about the late race caution. “Earlier in the season I was on the bad end of that, so at least tonight I’m glad to get a little payback and get a couple of breaks because I’ve had a really good car."

The caution was brought out when the leader at that time, Bill Plemons, Jr. of Locust Grove, got tangled in turn one with Skip Nichols of Albany and both competitors got pushed to the rear of the field on the restart. Tina Johnson of Senoia finished second.

Chandler Smith of Talking Rock continued his Thursday Thunder dominance with another feature win and extended his lead in the Bandits division. Smith patiently wove his way through the field and on to victory lane after he started back in the 13th position. Smith needed just three laps to move to the lead where he held off a hard charging Connor Younginer of Stockbridge over the reminder of the race.

The Allred Family Dentistry Semi-Pro feature saw R.S. Senter of Oakwood race to his fifth consecutive feature win of the season. It was Taylor Jorgensen of Stockbridge who jumped out to the lead from the pole at the drop of the green flag. Senter, though, took the lead away on lap 10 when he slid to the inside of Jorgensen in turn four. Senter brought along William Martin of Douglasville, who also used the opening to move up to second. Senter then held off the charge from Martin as well as Jorgensen over the final 10 laps to capture the win.

Starting back in the sixth position did not prevent Woodrow Mullis from driving to the front of the field for the feature win in the Young Lions Division. Zach Leonhardi of Cartersville held off a hard-charging Mullis for the first nine laps of the race. Leonhardi could not hold the lead as he bobbled out of turn four. Mullis took advantage of the opening as he slid to the inside of Leonhardi and held off the field for the win.

Blaise Maddox of Locust Grove earned the win in the Beginner Bandolero feature race. Hayden Swank of Woodstock finished second while Trey Tadrzak of Stockbridge earned third.

The 15th Street Pizza and Pub Outlaws Division saw Jensen Jorgensen earn his fourth consecutive feature win of the season. Jorgensen drove to the inside of turn four and got underneath Chase Purdy of Gallion, AL on lap 14 to take a lead he would not relinquish. Jorgensen held on for the win as he kept Purdy along with Ashton Winger of Fayetteville in his rear-view mirror. After starting fourth, Jorgensen patiently took his time over the first 14 laps of the feature race as he worked his way through the field to the front of the pack.

In the W.J. Plemons III Associates Group Insurance Inc., Pro Division feature, William Plemons III earned the win with Mullis a car length back at the checkered flag. Plemons started from the pole to capture the victory as Mullis moved through the field to finish second while Leonhardi finished third.

Competitors will have another opportunity to earn points at the “Thunder Ring” as the sixth feature race of Thursday Thunder on the quarter-mile track at Atlanta Motor Speedway is on June 26.

For more information, visit

Atlanta Motor Speedway – Hampton, GA
Thursday Thunder – June 25, 2014

1. Chandler Smith
2. Connor Younginer
3. D.J. Canipe
4. Timothy Tyrrell
5. Joshua Kossek
6. Ryan Howell
7. Ryleigh Lemonds
8. Nathan Jackson
9. Clay Thompson
10. Lawson Ingold
11. Austin Geer
12. Eddie Falscher
13. Will Robusto
14. Isabella Robusto
DNS: Raleigh Lambert

Beginner Bandolero
1. Blaise Maddox
2. Hayden Swank
3. Trey Tadrzak
4. Ganutt Hudgins
5. Dawson O'Conner
6. George Hayes
7. Wilder Etheredge
8. Samuel Oliver
9 .Roy Hayes

1. Scott Moseley
2. Tina Johnson
3. Robbie Woodall
4. Don Maness
5. Mike Kennedy
6. Mark Swan
7. Martin Snyder
8. Bill Plemons, Jr.
9. Skip Nichols
10. Tony Armbruster

1. Jensen Jorgensen
2. Chase Purdy
3. Ashton Winger
4. Matt Mead
5. Hannah Bell
6. Trevor Rizzo
7. Will McConnell
8. Jonathan Cook
9. Joshua Hicks
10. Lexi Gay
11. Kamera McDonald

1. William Plemons III
2. Woodrow Mullis
3. Zach Leonhardi
4. Bailey Woodall
5. Miranda Meredith
DNS: Tony Armbruster

1. R.S. Senter
2. William Martin
3. Taylor Jorgensen
4. Bailey Woodall
5. Aaron Bailey
6. Miranda Meredith

Young Lions
1. Woodrow Mullis
2. Zach Leonhardi
3. Christian Eckes
4. Dylan Murry
5. Blake Gaither
6. Josef Graf
7. Mason Diaz
8. Christopher Clanton

Link: Atlanta Motor Speedway Thursday Thunder
Associated Categories: Sports News, Professional Sports, NASCAR

© Copyright 2015
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.

  • Click here
  • Click here
  • Click here
  • Click here
  • Click here
Gainesville, GA 30501
Wind: NW 4 mph
Dew point: 17°F