Saturday 8:19am
March 28, 2015
Currently 34°F
Posted: Tuesday, June 24th 2014 at 3:40am

Roberts races to first Gresham 'Stockerama' Truck win

By Track PR
click to enlarge
Ty Roberts celebrates in Gresham Motorsports Park's victory lane after scoring his first Truck division win at the track Saturday night. / Photo: Courtesy GMP Media
JEFFERSON – A pair of first-time winners – and a trio of repeat victors – highlighted Saturday’s Stockerama racing program at Gresham Motorsports Park in Jefferson, GA.

Sixteen-year-old Ty Roberts scored his first-ever GMP Pro Truck win, capturing the 30-lap division headliner. Roberts led early only to surrender the top spot to Rodney Benefield midway through the event.

Roberts was about to settle for second, however, powering back under Benefield as the pair sped into turn 3 on the high-banked GMP half-mile oval. The teenage driver was then able to hold off the veteran Benefield over the final laps to take the win. Benefield, who suffered brake problems late in the race, held on for second in front of Jamie Weimer.

Meanwhile, C.J. Huitt made his first trip to GMP this season a profitable one capturing the Front Wheel Drive main event and the $400 first-place prize money. Huitt battled three-time GMP winner Gary Zajdek throughout the event before finally taking control over the final laps. Zajdek, Brian Sutton, Kristen Carnes and Donavan Becham completed the top-five finishers.

While Huitt and Roberts were earning their first GMP victories of the season, Bryan Beckner, Brian Sosebee and Matthew Wragg continued their winning ways at the Jefferson speedplant.

Beckner staged an epic battle with veteran Mike Childers, eventually wheeling away with his fourth Renegade feature event of the season. The win kept Beckner undefeated in Renegade competition at GMP this season. Childress collected the runner-up spot while GMP first-timer Jimmy Rowland turned in a steady effort to take home third place money.

Meanwhile, Sosebee managed to best a very competitive Sportsman field earning his second division win in as many weeks. Sosebee fended off the challenges of Jackie Daniel and Michael Mobley before scampering away to earn the 25-lap win on the GMP quarter-mile oval. Mobley managed to hold off Daniel for second with Rob Hubbard coming home fourth.

The final event of the evening – the 30-lap Outlaw Late Model event – saw yet another epic battle between Matthew Wragg and Jason Bates. The two drivers rocketed away from the field and raced nose-to-tail and side-by-side for multiple laps before contact between the two cars sent Bates’ machine hard into the turn 1 wall on the GMP half-mile oval. Bates’ mount eventually came to rest on the inside of the track suffering heavy damage. Fortunately, Bates was uninjured in the wreck.

Wragg, who was sent to the back of the pack on the restart for his part in the incident with Bates, responded by driving through the field and passing Russell Shore for the lead with a stellar outside pass.

Wragg went on to the win and the $800 first-place check while Shore came home second with Scott Simpson, David Murphy and Bates completing the top-five finishers.

The next GMP Stockerama is set for Saturday, July 19. Dubbed ‘All Scouts Night’ as all Cub, Boy, Girl and Eagle Scouts in uniform will be admitted FREE.

Gresham Motorsports Park – Jefferson, GA
Race Results - June 21, 2014

1. Brian Sosebee
2. Michael Mobley
3. Jackie Daniel
4. Rob Hubbard

1. Bryan Beckner
2. Mike Childers
3. Jimmy Rowland

Front Wheel Drives
1. C.J. Huitt
2. Gary Zajdek
3. Brian Sutton
4. Kristin Carnes
5. Donavan Beacham

1. Ty Roberts
2. Rodney Benefield
3. Jami Weimer

Outlaw Late Models
1. Matthew Wragg
2. Russell Shore
3. Shawn Simpson
4. David Murphy
5. Jason Bates

Link: Gresham Motorsports Park
Associated Categories: Sports News, Professional Sports, NASCAR

© Copyright 2015
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.

  • Click here
  • Click here
  • Click here
  • Click here
  • Click here
Gainesville, GA 30501
Wind: NW 12 mph
Dew point: 20°F