Wednesday 12:33pm
April 01, 2015
Currently 72°F
Posted: Tuesday, June 17th 2014 at 2:59am

Indianapolis blanks Gwinnett, 3-0

By Staff reports
click to enlarge
INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. –- The Indianapolis Indians (42-29) beat the Gwinnett Braves (34-36) for the seventh straight time at Victory Field with a 3-0 victory Monday night in game two of the four game series.

The G-Braves have not won a game in Indianapolis since July 18, 2012.

The Indians got on the board in the top of the second inning against G-Braves’ starter Gus Schlosser. After recording the first out of the inning, Schlosser walked Brett Morel, Mel Rojas, Jr. and Blake Davis in succession to load the bases. Indianapolis starter Casey Sadler then hit a high-hopping ground ball over the mound, scoring Morel to make it 1-0.

The other two runs came in the bottom of the sixth, as Chris Dickerson led off with a walk, stole second, and scored on a ground-rule double to right by Chris McGinnis to push the lead to 2-0. Tony Sanchez singled to short right, moving McGinnis to third, while McGinnis scored the third and final run of the game as Morel hit into a 4-6-3 double play.

The Indians pitching stifled the G-Braves offense all night, but they had a chance to score in the top of the sixth inning. With runners on first and second, Jose Constanza singled to right, but Ozzie Martinez was thrown out at the plate by Mel Rojas, Jr. to end the threat and the inning.

Schlosser (L, 3-3) took the loss as he pitched 5.2 innings with six hits, three earned runs, five walks and three strikeouts. Ryan Buchter went 0.1 of an inning with no hit and no runs and Jorge Reyes, just called up from Double-A Mississippi, worked 2.0 scoreless innings with one walk and two strikeouts.

Sadler (W, 7-1) went 5.0 innings with four hits, three walks and three strikeouts. Tyler Waldron (H, 3) went 2.0 innings with three hits and two strikeouts to keep the shutout in tact, while former G-Brave Wirfin Obispo (H, 9) went 0.1 of an inning with a strikeout, recording his team-leading ninth hold of the season. Andy Oliver (S, 7) picked up the save with 1.2 scoreless innings.

Brandon Boggs led the G-Braves on offense with a 2-for-4 night. Christian Bethancourt saw his 12-game hitting streak end with an 0-for-4 night.

For the Indians, Dickerson, McGuiness and Morel were each 1-for-3 with a run scored.

The G-Braves and Indians continue the four game series at Victory Field Tuesday night. RHP Yunesky Maya (2-1, 2.48) will get the start for Gwinnett. RHP A.J. Morris (1-1, 1.20) is scheduled to start for the Indians. First pitch is set for 7:05 p.m. Tony Schiavone will have the play by play call beginning at 6:50 p.m. on,, Tune-In Radio and MiLB First Pitch.
Associated Categories: Sports News, Professional Sports

© Copyright 2015
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.

  • Click here
  • Click here
  • Click here
  • Click here
  • Click here
Gainesville, GA 30501
Wind: West 9 mph
Dew point: 47°F