Sunday 2:08am
March 29, 2015
Currently 35°F
Posted: Monday, June 9th 2014 at 1:00pm

Morris nabs first win of the year at Senoia Raceway

By Track PR
click to enlarge
Glenn Morris made his first trip of 2014 to Senoia Raceway's victory lane in the Late Model feature Saturday night. / Photo: Francis Hauke/
SENOIA, GA - Defending Jodeco Auto Sales Late Model champion Glenn Morris of Fayetteville has been absent from Senoia Racewayís victory lane this season. That changed this past Saturday night as Morris powered past Phenix City, Alabamaís Lavon Sparks and then held off Thomastonís Shane Fulcher for the feature win.

Joining Morris in the winnerís circle were LaGrangeís David Osbahr besting the field in the Newnan Bonding B Cadets, Covingtonís Sam Carter in the Summit Racing Equipment Hobby Stock, Hamptonís Marc Leath in the Senoia Drug Company Mini Stock and Dustin Smith in the A1 Hydraulics Bomber. James Stansel of Douglasville won his debut piloting a Legends Car winning the main event for the motorcycle engine powered race cars.

Morris qualified on the pole for the first time this season, but had to hold off former track champion Lavon Sparks at the drop of the green. Sparks tried valiantly to get past Morris, but slipped allowing him to move out front. The slip continued three laps later when Fulcher was able to get past and secure second.

Fulcher caught up to Morris near the end, but Morris was on a mission to gain his first win of the season and pad his points lead. Sparks ended up third ahead of Jayce Southwell and LaGrangeís Tod Darda.

Bowdenís Wesley Lyle and Jonesboroís Jason Miller battled for the lead in the feature for the Newnan Bonding B Cadet. Lyle was the raceís first leader, but cut a tire near the middle of the race, forcing him to the pit area. Miller inherited the lead while a pair of LaGrange drviers fought it out for the second place spot. David OsBahr and Buck Ussery ran side by side for several laps before Osbahr was able to break loose and then tackle Miller for the lead.

With only seven laps remaining, Osbahr, with Ussery on the inside, moved up in turn one then sliced to the low side out of turn two to get a run on Miller. The two raced to turn three with Osbahr getting the advantage and overtaking the number one spot. He would go on to record his fourth victory of the year. Miller finished second and moved into the divisional points lead while Ussery had his best finish at Senoia in third.

Sam Carter started on the outside front row for the Summit Racing Equipment Hobby Stock feature, with many of the hottest drivers starting further back in the field. Carter darted to the initial lead while Williamsonís Houston Hatchett and Franklin duo Ben and Chris Steele patiently waited for opportunities to gain positions and move towards the front. Forsythís Bill Brown, Milnerís Ben Wells and Griffinís Chad Foster were emblazoned in a dog fight while Carter moved further and further into the lead.

As the cross flags came out for the halfway mark, Hatchett and Chris Steele were able to work past Brown and Wells. A caution also closed up the field, allowing the fast climbing pair to restart closer to Carter and Foster. The restart was costly for Foster as he slid high in turn two giving the room to Hatchett and then Steele to move past. The boys chased down Carter, but were unable to overcome the leader.

Carter won his second of the season ahead of points leader Hatchett and Chris Steele. Foster would come home in fourth with Brown rounding out the first five.

A pair of Senoia drivers squared off in the A1 Hydraulics Bomber main as Dustin Smith and Winford Minix decided the outcome. Smith led for the entire race as Minix worked his way towards the front. A late race caution assisted Minix in catching Smith, but the checkers would fly over Smith first at the finish line with Minix settling for the runner-up spot this week after winning the previous Saturday. Griffin rookie Alex Rudolph was third followed by Jay Conner of Alvaton and Josh Roddy of Palmetto.

Marc Leath held off a mid-race charge by Hamptonís Brandon Brock to win the race for the Mini Stock while Douglasvilleís James Stansel kept former national legend car dirt champion Dwight Pilgram at bay for the Legends Car laurels. It was the first time that Stansel had ever raced a Legends Car.

Senoia Raceway returns to action on Saturday with the Country Financial Fatherís Day Late Model Summer Shoot-Out. The late model special event will feature the increased purse for the late models along with a full line-up of racing in the trackís weekly divisions.

Senoia Raceway - Senoia, GA
Race Results - June 7, 2014

Late Models
1. Glenn Morris
2. Shane Fulcher
3. Lavon Sparks
4. Jayce Southwell
5. Tod Darda
6. Parrish Duncan
7. Corey Payton
DNS: Marcus Caswell

B Cadets
1. David Osbahr
2. Jason Miller
3. Buck Ussery
4. Zack Privette
5. Wesley Lyle
6. Bennie Croy
7. Melissa Still
DNS: Donald Doyle, T.J. Joiner

Hobby Stocks
1. Sam Carter
2. Houston Hatchett
3. Chris Steele
4. Chad Foster
5. Bill Brown
6. Bryson Ussery
7. Ben Steele
8. Ben Wells
9. Ronnie Thacker
DNS: Kerry Carden, Mike Jenkins

Mini Stocks
1. Marc Leath
2. Brandon Brock
3. Cassie Dingler. Still

1. Dustin Smith
2. Winford Minix
3. Alex Rudolph
4. Jay Conner
5. Josh Roddy
6. Jim Jackson

Legends Cars
1. James Stansel
2. Dwight Pilgram
3. Mike Younginer
4. Meghan Younginer
5. Chris Middleton
6. Tim Guy
7. Tony Armbruster

Link: Senoia Raceway
Associated Categories: Sports News, Professional Sports, NASCAR

© Copyright 2015
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.

  • Click here
  • Click here
  • Click here
  • Click here
  • Click here
Gainesville, GA 30501
Wind: WNW 5 mph
Dew point: 15°F