Saturday 7:52pm
March 28, 2015
Currently 49°F
Posted: Wednesday, May 28th 2014 at 2:30pm

Hagar races to USCS Sprints Saturday win at Jackson

By Jacob Seelman
click to enlarge
Derek Hagar raced to his third USCS win of the 2014 season at Jackson Motor Speedway Saturday night. / Photo: Chris Seelman
BYRAM, MS – Derek Hagar, from Marion, AR, powered past Tim Crawley’s machine with three laps to go in Saturday’s 16th Annual Ival Cooper Memorial Race at Jackson Motor Speedway in Byram, MS Saturday night and drove away to the victory. The win was Hagar’s 24th career USCS victory.

“Man, how about that?” Hagar quipped in victory lane. “We just had a really good race car tonight. We were working lap traffic and I just hit one wrong and Tim got around me there before that caution. I wasn’t sure if we were gonna be able to get back to him but it looked like he got way high up there in three and four and we got back to the bottom and here we are in victory lane again.”

Crawley, the Benton, AR native, came home in second place behind Hagar. After the race, Crawley lamented the mistake that cost him the win.

“We just got up on the cushion there and got some mud in the wheel cover and it knocked it right off,” he said. “Hate it for Mike (Ward) and all my guys; we had a car that should have won tonight. Sometimes it’s just not your night, but we’ll be back. And we won’t be losing that wheel cover again.”

Terry Gray, from Bartlett, TN, finished in third, with Bryant, AR’s Zach Pringle coming home in fourth place followed by Marshall Skinner from Marion, AR.

Jeff Swindell ended his night in sixth place, followed by Michael Miller in seventh, Anthony Nicholson eighth, Dalton Davis in ninth and A.G. Rains in 10th.

Hagar grabbed the lead from Gray on the opening lap following an aborted start and led the early laps before two red flags slowed the pace, one on lap 2 for Jerod Roller’s hard flip in turn 1 and a second on lap 3 for a second flip in turn one involving Ray Stevison. Both drivers climbed out of their cars uninjured.

Once the field went back to green, 10 laps flashed by before the third and final red flag of the night flew when Andy McElhannon flipped wildly in turn 4. Yet again, the safety of the USCS sprint cars was proven as the Nesbit, Mississippi native walked away from his car unscathed.

Another caution flew on lap 19 before Crawley would snatch the lead from Hagar on lap 24 with an outside move in lapped traffic in turn two. However, a caution for the stopped car of Jan Howard in turn four with five laps to go would set up the final restart that allowed Hagar to take the lead back for good.

Gray kicked off the evening with a win in the Hoosier Speed Dash. Hagar won the first heat, and Zach Pringle won the second heat. Gray then followed up his dash win with a victory in the third heat. After Hagar pulled a four in the inversion draw, Gray scored the K&N Filters Pole Award.

USCS Outlaw Thunder Sprint Car Tour
Jackson Motor Speedway - Byram, MS
Ival Cooper Memorial – May 24, 2014

1. #9JR - Derek Hagar
2. #88 - Tim Crawley
3. #10 - Terry Gray
4. #14Z - Zach Pringle
5. #26 - Marshall Skinner
6. #94 - Jeff Swindell
7. #4M - Michael Miller
8. #16 - Anthony Nicholson
9. #12 - Dalton Davis
10. #3 - A.G. Rains
11. #10M - Morgan Turpen
12. #13 - Todd Fayard
13. #44 - Ronny Howard
14. #27 - Curt Terrell
15. #12M - Greg Merritt
16. #32X - Robert Richardon
17. #28 - Jeff Willingham
18. #33 - Mark Huddleston
19. #21 - Kevin Hinkle
20. #46 - Jan Howard
21. #42 - Andy McElhannon
22. #N2 - Ray Stevenison
23. #5 - Jerod Roller

Link: USCS Sprint Car Series
Associated Categories: Sports News, Professional Sports, NASCAR

© Copyright 2015
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.

  • Click here
  • Click here
  • Click here
  • Click here
  • Click here
Gainesville, GA 30501
Wind: NNW 15 mph
Dew point: 9°F