Saturday 11:08pm
March 28, 2015
Currently 41°F
Posted: Wednesday, May 14th 2014 at 12:00pm

Duke outruns rain to score B Cadet win at Senoia Raceway

By Track PR
click to enlarge
Blant Duke celebrates in victory lane after scoring the B Cadet feature win Saturday night at Senoia Raceway. / Photo: Francis Hauke/
SENOIA - On a night that saw Mother Nature try valiantly to knock out the racing program at Senoia Raceway in Senoia, GA, she would lose out allowing another new winner to visit victory lane at the 3/8ths mile bull ring. Whitesburg’s Blant Duke led flag to flag in the Newnan Bonding B Cadet feature to claim his first win of the 2014 season. Duke survived to win despite engine issues through the final six laps of the race.

“It seemed to have a cylinder or two go bad there at the end,” said Duke afterwards. “But, we held on and will have it fixed for next week.”

Duke charged out to the early lead, but the field reeled him in during the final six laps after Duke’s power plant began to falter. The scenario set up a last lap attempt to pass by Thomas Phillips of West Point. Phillips dove underneath Duke in turn three on the final lap, but the two touched, resulting in Phillips spinning towards the inside wall. Duke was able to keep his ride going forward and won while LaGrange’s David Osbahr made a great move to avoid contact with Phillips and finished second. The late race spin allowed Jonesbor’s Jason Miller to nab a top three finish.

Houston Hatchett returned to victory lane after falling short the past three weeks. Hatchett moved past Senoia’s Gary Brand on lap four and then had to hold off a late race challenge by Griffin’s Chad Foster to secure the win. Hatchett came up on lapped traffic with only two laps remaining. When he slowed find the correct route to take, Foster closed the gap and made a move. Hatchett was able to power back in front of Foster and claim the checkers, but Foster made a statement that his time is coming soon for a run at a first career victory at Senoia.

Late race theatrics with lapped traffic also sent shivers through the crowd during the Jodeco Auto Sales Late Model feature. Shane Fulcher nearly spun after contact with lapped traffic. Fulcher was able to regain control before LaGrange’s Tod Darda passed. That locked up his second win of the year over the current point’s leader for the fastest weekly class at Senoia Raceway. LaGrange’s Dusty Jones ran third ahead of Fayetteville’s Glenn Morris and sixteen-year-old Senoia rookie Joey Armistead.

Brandon Bright led flag to flag in the special event for the Senoia Drug Company Mini Stock. Bright posted his eighteenth career victory in the four cylinder stock car class. His win also moved him into the season point’s lead as Newnan’s Bobby Arnold was unable to compete due to engine issues.

John Holcomb, Senoia’s Winford Minix and Dustin Smith put on another racing show in the A1 Hydraulics Bomber main event. The threesome have quickly become fan favorites for their close and competitive racing. Holcomb and Smith have exchanged wins this season while Minix continues to fight for his first win. Minix would have to settle for another second place finish as Holcomb held off several attempts to steal away the number one spot. Smith ended up third with previous 2014 winners Mike Ray and Josh Roddy finishing fourth and fifth.

Only two cars showed up for the Modified Mini this week. Sharpsburg’s Robbie Scadron broke during hot laps eliminating an opportunity for competition. The class has only had three cars compete the past few weeks and a season high four cars competed on opening night.

Action resumes this Saturday, May 17 with all six weekly divisions competing in double features.

Senoia Raceway - Senoia, GA
Race Results - May 10, 2014

Late Models
1. Shane Fulcher
2. Tod Darda,
3. Dusty Jones
4. Glenn Morris
5. Joey Armistead
6. Marcus Caswell
7. Clifton Moran
8. Jim Manka
9. Cody Richards
10. Hunter Worley
11. Craig Scott
12. Austin Horton
13. Ricky Payton
14. Corey Payton

B Cadet
1. Blant Duke
2. David Osbahr
3. Jason Miller
4. Johnny Stinchcomb
5. Thomas Phillips
6. Bennie Croy
7. Paul Holloway

Hobby Stock
1. Houston Hatchett
2. Chad Foster
3. Sam Carter
4. Ben Wells
5. Gary Brand
6. Carl Jones
7. Bill Pitt

Mini Stock
1. Brandon Bright
2. Gary Parker
3. Dorough Bright
4. Brandon Libri
5. Harold Leath
6. Robert Caldwell
7. Brandon Johnson

1. John Holcomb
2. Winford Minix
3. Dustin Smith
4. Mike Ray
5. Josh Roddy
6. Alex Rudolph

Link: Senoia Raceway
Associated Categories: Sports News, Professional Sports, NASCAR

© Copyright 2015
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.

  • Click here
  • Click here
  • Click here
  • Click here
  • Click here
Gainesville, GA 30501
Wind: North 5 mph
Dew point: 14°F