Tuesday 6:09am
March 03, 2015
Currently 52°F
Posted: Tuesday, March 11th 2014 at 3:34am

Daniel Hemric surges late again for PASS South win at Dillon

By Staff
click to enlarge
Daniel Hemric made the pass for the lead with two laps to go, and would hold on to score his second straight PASS South Series win in the South Carolina Clash at Dillon Motor Speedway Saturday night. / Photo: Laura / LWpictures.com
DILLON, SC - For the second week in a row, Daniel Hemric made yet another late race surge to win the Pro All Stars Series (PASS) South Super Late Model event Saturday night at Dillon Motor Speedway in Dillon, SC.

Hemric passed Cole Timm with two laps to go when Timm tangled with the slower car of Will Gallaher and survived a green-white–checker finish for the win in the 9th annual South Carolina Clash.

“He (Timm) did a heck of a job, that kid’s got a bright future, but I was in the right place at the right time when he got hung up behind the 5 (Gallaher),” said Hemric in victory lane. “To be able to win last week in the Woodman Racing car and to win this week in the Carswell Motorsports car sets us up real well for this rest of the year.”

In qualifying, Wallkill, NY rookie Tyler Dippel had the quick time with a lap of 91.076 miles per hour around the egg-shaped 4/10 mile speedway. After the top 10 qualifiers redraw, Spencer Wauters and Tate Fogleman moved to the front while the two fastest qualifiers, Dippel and Preston Peltier, slid back to ninth and 10th in the order.

Fogleman took the lead at the drop of the green flag, but was overtaken on the second lap of the race by Gus Dean. The first caution of the race would wave on lap 3 when Gallaher bobbled exiting turn four causing Brandon Setzer, Bill Catania, and Hayes Goodson all to spin and make hard contact with the inside wall.

Just two laps later, Fogleman slammed the wall exiting turn four, resulting in a multi-car melee on the front stretch. The car of Jody Measamer was sent tumbling upside down before ending up back on all four wheels. While several cars were able to stop to avoid the accident, the machines of Garrett Campbell and Matt Daley suffered heavy damage and were unable to continue. Despite the severity of the incident, all the drivers were able to escape without serious injury.

Following a red flag to clean up the accident, Dean continued to lead over Wauters and Joe Heigl. Behind the lead trio, contenders began to maneuver into position for the final stretch run to the checkers. On lap 111, Lee Hansard and Tanner Rumburg spun in turn three, allowing the lead lap cars to close back together once again.

Timm looked to have the fastest car on the track in the late stages moving around Peltier and Wauters into second. Despite leading nearly 140 laps, Dean’s car was beginning to fade. Timm moved by Dean to take the lead with 12 laps to go, while Hemric started to mount his final push to the front.

With Hemric closing, Timm lost ground behind the lapped car of Gallaher. Hemric made the move to draw alongside Timm with two laps entering turn one, with Timm eventually spinning Gallaher’s slower car exiting turn two to bring out the final caution of the night.

Hemric held Timm off on the final restart to take his second straight win at Dillon Motor Speedway and fourth career PASS South Super Late Model triumph. Tyler Church finished third in front of Peltier and Wauters, who incidentally finished fifth for the third time in the last six South Carolina Clash events. Rounding out the top ten were Dean, who led 137 laps on the night, Jimmy Doyle, Heigl, Jared Irvan, and John Batten.

Zachary Dabbs survived an equally wild race for his first career PASS Pro Late Model win. Fellow rookie Jacob Schneider appeared to be on his way to victory after making a three wide move to take the lead around Jeff Batten and Dabbs on lap 19. But contact with Batten with 10 laps to go sent Schneider into the turn one wall. With both Schneider and Batten out of the race, Dabbs held off Greg Bohannon, Jr. for the victory. Rounding out the top five were Matt Murphy, Schneider and Lucas Jones.

Michael Tucker led the most laps en route to the win in the 4 Cylinder Mayhem main event.

The PASS South Super Late Models and PASS Pro Late Models will be in action again April 5 at Orange County Speedway in Rougemont, NC for the 9th annual Orange Blossom Special. Legends cars will also be in competition.

PASS South Series
Dillon Motor Speedway - Dillon, SC
South Carolina Clash (Unofficial) - March 8, 2014

1.#98h Daniel Hemric
2. #57 Cole Timm
3. #7 Tyler Church
4. #26 Preston Peltier
5. #5w Spencer Wauters
6. #56 Gus Dean
7. #71 Jimmy Doyle
8. #15h Joe Heigl
9. #28 Jared Irvan
10. #48 John Batten
11. #5 Will Gallaher
12. #104 Kevin Powell
13. #89 Lee Hansard
14. #2 Trevor Noles
15. #15 Tanner Rumburg
16. #1 Tyler Dippel
17. #9 Matt Daley
18. #8F Tate Fogleman
19. #98 Jody Measamer
20. #12 Garrett Campbell
21. #18 Bill Catania
22. #7k Ted Mickelson
23. #6 Brandon Setzer
24. #16 Hayes Goodson
DNS: #89L David Latour

PASS Pro Late Models (Unofficial)
1. 23 – Zachary Dabbs
2. 54 – Greg Bohannon, Jr.
3. 7 – Matt Murphy
4. 81 – Jacob Schneider
5. 16 – Lucas Jones
6. 71 – Nick Robinson
7. 02 – Walker Yates
DQ: 49 – Jeff Batten
DNS: 45 - Kodie Conner

Link: PASS Racing Series
Associated Categories: Sports News, Professional Sports, NASCAR

© Copyright 2015 AccessNorthGa.com
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.

  • Click here
  • Click here
  • Click here
  • Click here
  • Click here
Gainesville, GA 30501
Wind: East 12 mph
Dew point: 39°F